U.S. Federal Holidays – 2019 Holiday Schedule

In United states., there are ten federal holidays in one calendar year. These holidays are designated by U.S. Congress which has the constitutional authority to declare holidays for federal institutions. There are no national holidays in United States. Most of the federal calendar holidays are considered as state holidays.

U.S. Federal holidays are also known as public or legal holidays because of their nationwide observance. U.S. company holidays are as same as federal holidays because they follow the federal calendar.

U.S. Federal Holidays 2019:

Find below the list of federal holidays in 2019 with dates –

HolidayOfficial Date
New Year Day

January 1, 2019 (Tuesday)
Martin Luther King Jr. Day

Observed on 3rd monday in the month of January
January 21, 2019
George Washington’s Birthday
Observed on 3rd Monday in the month of February
February 18, 2019.

Note: This is as per section 6103(a) of title 5 of USA.
Memorial Day

Observed on the Last Monday in the month of May
May 27, 2019
Independence Day

Observed on July 4 (Thursday)
Labor Day

Observed on 1st Monday in the month of September
September 2, 2019
Columbus Day

Observed on 2nd Monday in the month of October
October 14, 2019
Veterans Day

Observed on (Monday) November 11, 2019
Thanksgiving Day

Observed on 4th Thursday in the month of November
November 28, 2019
Christmas Day

Observed on December 25, 2019 (Wednesday)

 Exceptions on United States Federal Holidays:

  1. If a federal holiday falls on saturday then it will be observed on preceding friday.
  2. If a federal holiday falls on subday then it will be observed on following monday.

For additional information, please check and visit the website of The office of personnel management.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.